Central Towns Trophy 2021




Central Towns Trophy 2021

Sponsored by


A special thanks to Flanagan Properties, (Tony Flanagan) for their continued sponsorship of this Tournament.

Congrats to Esker Hills Golf Club on winning the Central Towns Trophy when they defeated Naas Golf Club in the final and thanks to all the teams that took part


The Semi-Final stage has been reached in this year's competition and the matches are as folows:  

Esker Hills V Borris


Naas V  Edenderry

The Final of the 2021 Central Towns Trophy will see near neighbours Esker Hills, who defeated Borris in one semi final, meet Naas, who overcame Edenderry in the other semi-final, and the final will take place in Tullamore on Saturday 11th September commencing at 3 pm :  


Esker Hills 



First named team has HOME (3 matches) advantage

Matches to be played on or before Sunday 22August

The date for the final has been fixed for Saturday 11th September at 3 pm. 

The Draw for the 2021 Central Towns Competition has been made and can be accessed by clicking on the document at the bottom of this Page or HERE.

First round matches to be playerd by 20th June.  Best wishes to all the clubs in this year's competition. 

Paddy Carragher,Captain-Elect is the Convenor for the Tournament this year 

His contact details are 

0872862966   or

email  carragherpaddy@gmail.com


For the first round matches the club on top of the draw play 3 matches at home.

            Thereafter club drawn first in each round plays 3 matches at home.


2nd Round. 12-2-7-14-19-8-3-6-11-16-17-5-9-4-10-13-18-15-1

3rd Round. 5-9-13-19-1-4-15-18-7-10-17-2-12-14-11-8-16-6-3

Semi-Finals. 15-18-6-13-3-16-11-8-12-2-14-10-7-17-4-9-1-5-19

Competition Rules

  1. The tournament shall be organised and run by Tullamore Golf Club and the Trophy, which is perpetual, shall be known as the “Central Towns Trophy”.

  2. A pennant will be presented to the Captain of the winning Club. The Central Towns Trophy shall be presented to the Manager of the winning team.

  3. The competing teams shall consist of five male members, playing singles scratch match play. The (World) Handicap Index (WHS) of team members shall not have been less than eleven point zero (11.0) on 1st January in the year of the tournament. The (WHS) Handicap Index held by a player on 1st January is the operative Handicap Index throughout the Tournament.

  4. All matches must be played to a finish unless an overall result has been reached.

  5. Each round of the tournament shall be played in accordance with the draw made by Tullamore Golf Club. For the first round the Club on top of the draw has three matches at home. For subsequent rounds, the Club whose number appears first on the draw sheet for the particular round being played, will play three (3) matches at home.

  6. No person may play for more than one Club in this tournament in any one season.

  7. All matches must be played on or before the date fixed. The winning club must report the result of the match to Tullamore Golf Club immediately.

  8. For the purposes of the tournament the area shall be divided into zones which will be determined by the organisers.

  9. The final of the tournament shall be played on the Tullamore Golf Course.

  10. The Trophy shall be held by the winning Club for one year and such Club shall be responsible for the safe custody and return to Tullamore Golf Club before the final the following year.

  11. No green fees are chargeable to members of a team for practice, during the seven days prior to the match. It is suggested that one free practice round be made available to the visiting team members.

  12. The decision of the Tullamore Golf Club shall be final on any question arising out of this tournament.

  13. Entrance fee of €90 must be lodged with the tournament organiser, Tullamore Golf Club by 21 May 2021.

  14. For further information contact Paddy Carragher 0872862966 or email pacarragher@eircom.net


The Central Towns Trophy was inaugurated by Tullamore Golf Club in 1965 and the first winners were Carlow Golf Club.   It has been a hugely popular competition.  

The following are the winners to date:

2019 - Palmerstown House
2018 - Portumna
2017 - New Forest
2016 - Portumna
2015 - Portumna
2014 - Tullamore
2013 - Carlow
2012 - Carlow
2011 - Castle Barna
2010 - Naas
2009 - Cill Dara
2008 - Moate
2007 - Nenagh
2006 - Birr
2005 - Mullingar
2004 - Ballinasloe
2003 - Nenagh
2002 - Edenderry
2001 - Headfort
2000 - Templemore
1999 - Nenagh
1998 - Bodenstown
1997 - Moate
1996 - Portumna
1995 - Cill Dara
1994 - Thurles
1993 - Nenagh
1992 - Ballinasloe
1991 - Ballinasloe
1990 - Nenagh
1989 - Nenagh
1988 - Nenagh
1987 - Portumna
1986 - Thurles
1985 - Carlow
1984 - Abbeyleix
1983 - Loughrea
1982 - Loughrea
1981 - Mullingar
1980 - Nenagh
1979 - The Curragh
1978 - The Curragh
1977 - Carlow
1976 - Thurles
1975 - Thurles
1974 - Carlow
1973 - Carlow
1972 - Thurles
1971 - The Curragh
1970 - Carlow
1969 - Naas
1968 - Thurles
1967 - Birr
1966 - Carlow
1965 - Carlow